AFCON Qualifiers: Super Eagles Likely Line-Up Against Benin

Nigeria take on the Benin Republic in their penultimate 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier at the Charles de Gaulle Stadium on Saturday evening.

The three-time African champions go into the clash against their West African neighbours with the hope of sealing qualification for the continent’s biggest showpiece.

Gernot Rohr’s men currently sit top of Group L with eight points from four games and will seal qualification if they can avoid defeat at Port-Novo.

The Super Eagles preparations have been affected by a few withdrawals, but Rohr still has a host of star names to select for the game.

And ahead of the clash, Soccernet predicts the likely line-up the German tactician will name.

In goal, Maduka Okoye should keep his place despite conceding four goals in the disastrous draw against Sierra Leone.

The goalkeeping position has been a problem since Rohr came in, but the 67-year-old recently confirmed Okoye as the number one ahead of Francis Uzoho, who is back in the squad again after almost two years out.

Tyronne Ebuehi is likely to edge out Ola Aina for the right-back spot, while Zaidu Sanusi should slot in easily as the left-back.

William Troost-Ekong and Leon Balogun, popularly called the Oyinbo wall, should be the centre-back pairing, which means Semi Ajayi is likely to settle for a place on the bench.

Wilfred Ndidi is back in the squad after missing the team’s last four matches. The Leicester City midfielder is expected to play in front of the defence, while Aribo and Etebo should be the central midfielders.

Rohr has always preferred the use of wingers, but given the form of Iheanacho and Moses Simon’s absence, he may be forced to tweak his tactics. 

The in-form Leicester City attacker may partner Napoli’s Victor Osimhen in attack, with Everton’s Alex Iwobi just behind them.

Nonetheless, irrespective of the tactics or formation, it’s vital the Super Eagles deliver an impressive performance, especially after what happened last time out.

Probable Line-up: Okoye, Ebuehi, Sanusi, Ekong, Balogun, Ndidi, Aribo, Etebo, Iwobi, Iheanacho and Osimhen.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post
Mobile Category