Chukwueze axed, Onyeka recalled as Rohr trims Super Eagles squad for Cameroon down to 24

Chukwueze axed, Onyeka recalled as Rohr trims Super Eagles squad for Cameroon down to 24

The head coach of the Nigerian senior national team included 31 players in his initial list for the June friendly but has now pruned it down significantly

Having featured in the 31-man roster made public last week, Villarreal’s Samuel Chukwueze and Almeria’s Umar Sadiq are among the nine players who did not make the revised list of invited stars named for Nigeria’s friendly clash against Cameroon in June. 

Franco-German manager Gernot Rohr had previously included Chukwueze and Sadiq in the squad he prepared to take on the Indomitable Lions on June 4 in Austria.

But the two former youth internationals missed the cut in the pruned squad list made public via the NFF Twitter page on Monday.

Also missing in the new list is Heartland goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, the defensive quartet of Leganes’ Kenneth Omeruo, Hoffenheim’s Kevin Akpoguma, Porto’s Zaidu Sanusi, and West Brom’s Semi Ajayi.

There is also no room for Rangers playmaker Joe Aribo and Monaco-owned flying winger Henry Onyekuru.

Chukwueze’s absence may not be unconnected with the injury he sustained while on club duties. Still, he is expected to be fit for their Europa League final clash against Manchester United on Wednesday. earlier reported that Sadiq could miss the Cameroon clash as Almeria were not likely to release such a key figure during the La Liga promotion playoffs around the same time.

Rohr has, however, called up two players to make up the deficit in the squad.

Galatasaray’s young defender Valentine Ozornwafor could be in line for his Super Eagles after getting his maiden invite.

There is also a recall for FC Midtjylland’s midfield enforcer Frank Onyeka, who last featured in another friendly match against Tunisia last year.

Regulars such as Victor Osimhen, Wilfred Ndidi, and captain Ahmed Musa make the 24-man squad, though. 

The West African teams will face each other at the Weiner Neustadt Stadium in Austria on Friday, June 4, as part of their preparations for the World Cup qualifying series scheduled to kick off later in the year.

The match is billed to start by 8.30 pm Nigerian time.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands); 

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, The Netherlands); Valentine Ozorwanfor (Galatasaray)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosia, Cyprus); Abraham Marcus (CD Feirense, Portugal); Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Kano Pillars FC); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Anayo Iwuala (Enyimba FC); Peter Olayinka (Slavia Praha, Czech Republic); Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Simy Nwankwo (Crotone FC, Italy

No comments:

Post a Comment