Akwa United emerge as NPFL Champions after thrashing MFM FC

Match-day 37 of the NPFL has come, and it brought with it good tidings for Akwa United.

It is signed, sealed and delivered. Akwa United are Champions of the 2020/2021 Nigeria Professional Football League.

After a 5-2 thrashing of MFM FC, Akwa United have been confirmed as Champions. The Kenedy Boboye tutored side’s efforts have been crowned with success.

Golden boot chasing Charles Atshimene put up an exceptional performance, scoring a hattrick. The Akwa hitman’s goals were also bolstered by goals from Mfon Udoh and an own goal from Alimi Adebayo.

Second-half goals from Michael Mbonu and Obasi were all the Olukoya Boys could take away from the Godswill Akpabio Stadium.

Atshimene’s hattrick takes him to 18 goals, the highest by any Akwa United player in a single NPFL season.

For Kenedy Boboye, he becomes the first manager to win the NPFL title with two different clubs. The last time he won it was with Plateau United in the 2017 season.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post
Mobile Category