Winners of the 2021 PDP national convention

Nigeria News | Laila's Blog
Winners of the 2021 PDP national convention

The 2021 Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) national convention has seen Senator Iyorchia Ayu, emerge as the new national chairman, while Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja, has also emerged as the deputy national chairman.

About 21 positions in the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party was contested by at least 27 candidates at the convention.

The convention was initially enveloped in uncertainty until the Court of Appeal, Port Harcourt Division, on Friday, dismissed the suit filed by Mr Secondus challenging his suspension and seeking to stop the event.

Former President of the Senate, Senator Iyorchia Ayu from Benue State emerges the new National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) after he was duly elected by the delegates of the Party.

Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State and his colleagues elected on the platform of the PDP were on ground to witness the announcement of the elective convention results in solidarity with Senator Ayu and other newly elected National Officers of the Party.

Former Oyo State Deputy Governor, Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja has been declared the Deputy National Chairman (South), of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP after winning with 2,004 votes to defeat his rival, former Governor of Osun State, Olagunsoye Oyinlola who garnered 705. In total, 3,511 voters were accredited and 165 votes voided.

He was declared winner of the poll by the chairman of the National Convention and Adamawa State Governor, Ahmadu Fintiri at about 4 am on Sunday, 31st of October 2021 at Eagles Square, Abuja

Arapaja, who belongs to the camp of Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, won his rival, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, who was rumoured to have the backings of ex-president Olusegun Obasanjo and former military President, Ibrahim Babangida

It’s expected that the new PDP Deputy National Chairman, Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja resign his position as the Southwest Zonal Chairman of the party.

Winners of the 2021 PDP national convention
Tolulope Ayeni

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post
Mobile Category