Maduka Okoye wins top Eredivisie award

Sparta Rotterdam goalkeeper, Maduka Okoye has won the Eredivisie goalkeeper of the month award.

Okoye was listed as part of the best 11 players for the past month after keeping impressive clean sheets through the month.

Three FC Twente players were named in the team while Ajax, PSV, Go Ahead Eagles and Groningen had the rest.

The Eredivisie team of the month was listed as; Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam), Philipp Max (PSV), Julio Pleguezuelo (FC Twente), Robin Pröpper (FC Twente), Joshua Brenet (FC Twente), Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax), Luuk Brouwers (Go Ahead Eagles), Jesper Karlsson (AZ), Michael de Leeuw (FC Groningen), Sébastien Haller (Ajax) en Eran Zahavi (PSV).

The Eredivisie said in its statement that; “After FC Twente, Ajax (Haller and Gravenberch) and PSV (Zahavi and Max) both follow with two players.

”Players from AZ, FC Groningen, Go Ahead Eagles and Sparta Rotterdam complete the team. Sparta Rotterdam goalkeeper Maduka Okoye has kept his clean sheet in two games and the match against Vitesse that was not finished (yet). The club is currently seventeenth in the Eredivisie.”

Okoye’s finest performance of the campaign so far was against Vitesse Arnhem where he stopped them from scoring before the game was eventually called off as a result of fans’ troubles.

He was absent in both legs of Nigeria’s game against Ghana after contracting COVID-19.


Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post
Mobile Category