The Speaker of the Ogun State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Olakunle Oluomo has commended the State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun on the recent approval of the reconstruction of the 32km Sango-Ijoko-Akute-Yakoyo road, with a request for same consideration for other roads across the three Senatorial Districts requiring immediate reconstruction or rehabilitation.

Oluomo, who gave the commendation, while presiding over the plenary at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta, stated that the award of the contract and mobilization of contractor to site would bring about a great relief to road users as well as improving the socio-economic well-being of the people.

The Speaker also lauded the security operatives in the State for success recorded recently through improved surveillance which led to the arrest of a suspected Boko-Haram kingpin in Abeokuta, encouraging them not to rest on their oars.

He therefore charged them to ensure a more co-ordinated efforts towards curtailing all crimes and criminalities that could result in the breach of peace and tranquility in the State, while challenging the residents of the State to be security conscious and always give intelligence information for easy security surveillance.

According to him, the commendation became imperative owing to the avalanche of complaints from the people resulting in the Assembly's resolutions on the need to ensure improved security networks across the State. 

In another development, the Assembly has confirmed the appointment of Governor Dapo Abiodun’s five Commissioner-nominees including Hon. Adijat Adeleye-Oladapo, Mr. Taiwo Oludotun, Hon. Hamzat Ganiyu, Mr. Ola Oresanya and Mr. Abayomi Hunye. 

Others cleared for appointment into statutory commissions are Mr. Adeleye Joseph Ademola for Teaching Service Commission; Hon. Onadeko Onamusi for House of Assembly Service Commission; Princess Adesola Ayoola Elegbeji and Hon. Akinpelu Aina Nurudeen for Judicial Service Commission.

The Assembly approval was sequel to the adoption of the report of the Committee of the Whole House Chaired by Speaker Oluomo as presented by his Deputy, Akeem Balogun, while the Majority Leader Yusuf Sheriff moved the motion for its adoption and was seconded by Hon. Kemi Oduwole.

The confirmation of the nominees was thereafter done through a motion moved by the Majority Leader, seconded by Abdul Bashir Oladunjoye and supported by the Whole House through a voice vote. 

It would be recalled that the Assembly had earlier screened the nominees during a session of the Committee of the Whole House chaired by Speaker Oluomo the previous day; where the nominees were implored to render more service for the socio-economic development of the State, when confirmed by the Assembly and sworn in by the State Governor.

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.