APC South-West Young Stakeholders Appeal to Tinubu for ministerial slot

The APC South-West Young Stakeholders Forum has appealed to President Bola Ahmed Tinubu to appoint a young person as the next Minister of Youth Development, following the recent reshuffle of ministerial portfolios, which created a vacancy in the ministry, and that it was important to appoint a young person to the position.

In a letter to the President signed by Lanre Oyegbola-Sodipo, Chairman of the APC South-West Young Stakeholders Forum, and Babajide Akeredolu, Co-Chairman, the forum said that the appointment of a young person to the position would be in line with the key principles of equity and justice. They noted that Ogun State currently has three representatives in the Federal Executive Council, while Lagos has two, and other states in the region – Osun, Oyo, Ekiti, and Ondo—have just one each.

"We believe that a young person will be better able to understand the challenges facing young people in Nigeria and to develop policies that will address those challenges," the forum said.

The forum also said that they have drafted a list of young people, following extensive consultations, who they believe are qualified for the position. 

The list includes:


Makinde Araoye (MKD)
Seun Olufemi-White
Ayodele Olawande


Bolaji Afeez Repete
Prince Oyekunle Oyewumi
Titilope Ayoka Gbadamosi
Ademola Adeyeye


Abdullahi Dayo Israel
Bayo Adenekan
Dr Seriki Muritala

The forum said that the young people on the list were all committed to the Renewed Hope agenda of the APC and the development of the youth in Nigeria and are confident that any of the young people on the list would be a great asset to the Ministry of Youth Development and would help to advance the cause of young people in Nigeria.

"We urge President Tinubu to consider our appeal and appoint a young person as the next Minister of Youth Development," the forum said. "This would be a great way to show his commitment to the youth of Nigeria and to help them achieve their full potential."

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.