Sewakanu assumes office as Ogun NUT chairman, vows open-door policy

Mr. Noah Sewakanu has assumed the role of Chairman for the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT) in Ogun State, succeeding Mr. Abiodun Akinola who retired from the position. 

Sewakanu, inaugurated in Imeko, Ogun State, has committed to upholding the union's principles and ensuring an open-door policy during his tenure. 

He emphasized his dedication to impartial leadership within the union.

According to him, all members of the union will be given opportunity to contribute to the growth and development of the union.
He said that his administration would strengthen the relationship between the union and all education agencies in the state through consultation and consolidation.

The new chairman said that the agencies include the Ministry of Education, State Universal Basic Education Board, Teaching Service Commission, Principals and Headmasters general office.

”I make this solemn declaration between me and God to be an impartial leader and hold the ethics and ethos of the union high in spirit.
” I am poised to re-orientate, reorganise and build on the good legacies of the past leaders in the union activities.

“Our leadership will run an open-door policy, whereby we will give all members leverage to contribute to the growth and development of our great union,” he said.

Earlier, Akinola advised members of the union to give the new chairman maximum support, noting that he could not do it alone.

He gave the assurance that though, he was retiring as head teacher, he was not going to get tired of the union.

The immediate past chairman said that he would continue to ensure that Sewakanu had a successful tenure.
Also, the NUT President, Titus Amba, advised the new chairman to follow the good path of his predecessor, who had a meritorious service.

Amba, represented by NUT’s National Social Secretary, Titilope Adebayo , enjoined the new chairman to always carry other members along in activities of the union.

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.